

DEPARTMENT OF THE ARMY U.S. ARMY ENGINEER DISTRICT, ALASKA P.O. BOX 898 ANCHORAGE, ALASKA 99506-0898

DEC 1 1 2001

Programs and Project Management Division Special Projects Management Branch

and a second of the

Ms. Stephanie Pingree Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation 410 Willoughby Avenue, Suite 303 Juneau, Alaska 99801-1795

Dear Ms. Pingree:

Enclosed for your information is the document entitled 'Site Characterization Technical Memorandum, Phase III Remedial Investigation, Northeast Cape, St. Lawrence Island, Alaska' dated November 2001. This document presents laboratory analytical data from sampling activities that took place during the 2001 field season.

This information is forwarded as a courtesy to stakeholders, and has not yet been reviewed by an independent data reviewer. In addition, quality assurance samples that were taken along with the project samples reported herein are not presented. The QA sample data and the data review, along with any adjustments to the project data, will be presented in the draft remedial investigation report, scheduled for March 2002. **Caution is advised in the use of this data until the data review has been completed**.

If you have any questions, please call Ms. Lisa Geist, Environmental Scientist at (907) 753-5742, or me at (907) 753-5606. This letter has also been furnished to the Distribution listed below.

Sincerely,

IODEC OI

Righard G. Jackson FUDS Project Manager

Enclosure

DISTRIBUTION:

Honorable Gerald Soonagrook, Sr., President, Native Village of Gambell Honorable Fritz Waghiyi, President, Native Village of Savoonga Honorable Wilbur Booshu, Mayor of Gambell Honorable Jerry Wongittilin, Sr., Mayor of Savoonga Mr. Melvin Apassingok, President, Sivuqaq, Inc. Mr. Carl Pelowook, Sr., President, Savoonga Native Corporation Mr. Morgan Apatiki, Local Liaison, Gambell Mr. George Noongwook, Local Liaison, Savoonga Mr. Jeff Brownlee, Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation Ms. Stephanie Pingree, AK Department of Environmental Conservation Mr. Gary Campbell, Agency for Toxic Substance and Disease Registry Mr. Kevin Oates, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Ms. Pam Miller, Program Director, Alaska Community Action on Toxics Mr. Morris Toolie, Jr., RAB Community Co-chair Mr. Jerald Reichlin, Fortier and Mikko Dr. Ronald Scrudato, R&M Technologies

PM-P/FUDS Team/Rich/NECri01data.tr